{Book Review} EVERYTHING THAT’S UNDERNEATH by Kristi DeMeester

That cover is beautiful! It sets the mood for this collection. This is my first rendezvous with Kristi DeMeester, but it won’t be my last. I didn’t know what to expect going into this one. After reading it, I think it’s safe to say this book is about the darkness of relationships. Relationships seem fine on the surface, but underneath it all, it’s a rotten mess.

As always, I have a few favorites in this collection. Most of the stories are good. I liked how the stories were organized. I felt like some of the stronger ones could have been spread out a little more. but that’s just my nitpicking. 

Everything That’s Underneath is about a husband and wife. 

The Wicked Shall Come Upon Him is about darkness deep down inside.

To Sleep Long, to Sleep Deep is about digging and searching. It’s a great story. 

The Fleshtival is about two perverts that get everything they deserve. 

Daughters of Hecate is about an abusive mother/daughter relationship. 

I set this collection down and came back to it later because the themes are so closely related. I normally devour a collection, but I would take it a story at a time with this one. 

Overall, this collection is a solid debut. The writing is strong. I dig the author’s style. I look forward to reading more stories by this author. That cover is beautiful.


4/5 stars!⭐⭐⭐⭐

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.